Xohana Torres Fernández

Birth Date: 22nd november 1931
Birth Place: Santiago de Compostela (A Coruña)

Real Academia Galega

She spent her childhood and part of her youth in Ferrol, where her father was assigned as sailor.

Since she was very young, she showed a special interest for literature, theatre and radio. In 1956, she directed in Ferrol a radio programme for women, "Teresa", and seven years later, "Raíz e tempo", her first radio cultural programme in Galician language on La Voz de Vigo. Her relationship with this medium was important because she participated in a lot of recitals and collaborated in the recording of albums about Castelao and Cunqueiro.

 Work & Activities

She started her literary career with a poetry book titled ‘Do sulco’, published in 1957 that inaugurated Illa Nova Collection. Her voice is present in magazines like Aturuxo, Vida gallega and Vieiros and in 1958 she was awarded the Poetry Prize of the Press Association of Vigo. In 1980, she published Estacións ao mar (Spanish Critic Prize in 1981) and Tempo de ría.

In 1971, she published her only novel, Adiós, María and a year later she published San Andrés de Lonxe, mitos e ritos, an essay which was awarded the Ethnography Prize of A Coruña County Council.

She also wrote two theatre plays: Á outra banda do Iberr, published in 1965 (with this play she was awarded Castelao prize in 1966) and Un hotel de primeira sobre o río, published in 1968.

Regarding children’s literature, she wrote Polo mar van as sardiñas (1968) and Pericles e a balea (1984), translated O abeto valente, by Jordi Cots, O globo de papel, by Elisa Vives and Así foi, by Kipling, in collaboration with Dolores Martínez. She also adapted universal stories like O traxe do emperador, O lobo de Lelo and O demo rapatú.

She entered the Galician Academy on 27th October 2001 and read the entrance speech titled Eu tamén navegar, replied by Salvador García Bodaño in the name of the institution.

She was also awarded the Pedrón de Oro in 1972, the Critics Prize in 1982, Celanova Prize in 1985 and the Feminine Creation Prize in 1992.


Text taken from the web of the Galician Academy: www.realacademiagalega.org