Antonio Vázquez Fernández

Category: Professor
Birth Date: 27th September 1926 († 20th april 2020)
Birth Place: Monforte de Lemos (Lugo)
Correo electrónico: 
Email contact form


He studied Humanities and carried out ecclesiastical studies in Sarria (Lugo) and Poio (Pontevedra). On 10th June 1950, he was ordained as a priest. He took a degree in Philosophy at the Pontifical University of Salamanca (1954) and 'Complutense' University in Madrid (1970). In 1979, he took his doctor's degree, presenting the doctoral thesis El hombre y sus creaciones en C.G. Jung. He enjoyed a scholarship at the Spanish School in Paris (1956-58) and was a Professor of Psychology at the Psychology College (Pontifical University of Salamanca). From 1992 to 2000, he was a Professor at 'La Experiencia' University in León-Castille. He gave many courses all over Spain and abroad.

 Work & Activities

These are some of his most important works: Las grandes líneas de la Psicología religiosa actual, Psicología y Pensamiento Existencial (Madrid, 1963); Psicología profunda y ética (Universidad de Madrid, 1970); Freud y Jung: dos modelos antropomórficos (Sígueme, Salamanca, 1981); La Psicología de la Personalidad en C. G. Jung (Sígueme, Salamanca, 1981); Notas para una lectura de las "Moradas" de Santa Teresa, desde la Psicologia Profunda (Pontifical University of Salamanca, 1982); Freud y Jung, Exploradores del Inconsciente (Cíncel, Madrid, 1986); Apariciones. Aspectos psicológicos en Diccionario de Mariología (Paulinas, Madrid, 1988); La psicotrafia en C.G. Jung (in collaboration) Psicotrafías Dinámicas (Salamanca University, 1989); Antropología Analítica en C. G. Jung (in collaboration). Nuevas Antropologías siglo XX (Salamanca, 1994) and Psicología de Jesús en Diccionario de Jesús de Nazaret (Montecarmelo, Burgos, 2001).

 Other Interesting Aspects

He worked as a teacher at Poio Monastery (1960-66) and was one of the founders and director of 'Christus Magister' Institute (1967-68). He was also an assitant of the Spanish Federation of Mercedarian Nuns (1982-2002).